How Hard Is the Real Estate Exam?
Harder than most candidates expect, and only 22 states publish an official pass rate. There is no national figure at all: no federal body, no test vendor and no regulator association reports one. Every "national average" you will see quoted is an estimate, a survey, or one state's number relabelled.
Where real figures exist they run from roughly 26% to 77%, but they are not comparable with each other, because they measure different things. Below is every published rate with what it actually counts stated beside it.
Every officially published pass rate
22states, and the "what it measures" column is the most important one on this page. Florida's first-time rate is 48% and its all-takers rate is 40%. Alabama's first-attempt rate is 70.1% and its all-attempts figure is 55.0%. Those two states look 22 points apart or 15 points apart purely depending on which row you read, which is why no row here is comparable to any other row unless the measures text matches.
| State | Rate | What it measures | Period |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama real estate practice exam | 70.1% | Salesperson, first attempt. Derived from 105 school rows | rolling 12 months |
| Alabama real estate practice exam | 55.0% | Salesperson, all attempts. Derived | rolling 12 months |
| Arizona real estate practice exam | 60.15% | Salesperson, first-time only, single exam with no portion split. Derived. Measures an exam that no longer exists: Arizona replaced its salesperson exam on 2 January 2026 | Q4 2023, discontinued |
| California real estate practice exam | 64% | Salesperson, first-time, single 150-question exam | FY 2023/24 |
| California real estate practice exam | 19.6% | Salesperson, retakes, four-year average | FY 2020/21 to 2023/24 |
| Colorado real estate practice exam | 63.49% | Broker (the entry credential), national portion, first-time | 2025 |
| Colorado real estate practice exam | 55.78% | Broker, state portion, first-time | 2025 |
| Florida real estate practice exam | 48% | Sales Associate, first-time takers, whole exam | May 2026 |
| Florida real estate practice exam | 31% | Sales Associate, repeat takers | May 2026 |
| Florida real estate practice exam | 40% | Sales Associate, all takers combined | May 2026 |
| Hawaii real estate practice exam | 49.13% | Salesperson, national portion, first attempt (labelled ORIGINAL) | year to 9/2025 |
| Hawaii real estate practice exam | 33.73% | Salesperson, state portion, first attempt (ORIGINAL) | year to 9/2025 |
| Illinois real estate practice exam | ~52% | Broker (entry-level licence), national portion, first-time. Weighted mean of monthly figures | Jan to Oct 2024 |
| Illinois real estate practice exam | ~56% | Broker, state portion, first-time. Weighted mean | Jan to Oct 2024 |
| Illinois real estate practice exam | ~34% | Broker, national portion, repeat takers. Weighted mean | Jan to Oct 2024 |
| Kansas real estate practice exam | 64% | All exams, all attempts combined, counted per exam not per candidate | FY2026 to date |
| Kentucky real estate practice exam | 69.26% | Sales Associate, national portion, first-time | 10/2025 to 1/2026 |
| Kentucky real estate practice exam | 51.23% | Sales Associate, state portion, first-time | 10/2025 to 1/2026 |
| Kentucky real estate practice exam | 39.83% | Sales Associate, national portion, repeat takers | 10/2025 to 1/2026 |
| Maryland real estate practice exam | 28.73% | Salesperson, national portion, first time AND repeat combined, labelled as such in the source header | CY2024 |
| Maryland real estate practice exam | 35.84% | Salesperson, state portion, first time and repeat combined | CY2024 |
| Montana real estate practice exam | 77% | Salesperson, national portion, first attempt | Q2 2025 |
| Montana real estate practice exam | 72% | Salesperson, state portion, first attempt | Q2 2025 |
| Nebraska real estate practice exam | 58.5% | Salesperson, national portion, first-time. Derived | Q1 2026 |
| Nebraska real estate practice exam | 26.3% | Salesperson, state portion, first-time. Derived | Q1 2026 |
| New York real estate practice exam | 52% | Salesperson, all takers, not labelled first-time, single combined exam | Jan to Dec 2024 |
| North Carolina real estate practice exam | 54% | All first-time candidates, whole exam. Properly labelled but a decade old | licence year 2015/16 |
| North Dakota real estate practice exam | 36.4% | Salesperson, first-time, portions not separated | CY2022 |
| Oregon real estate practice exam | 61% | Broker (entry credential), national portion, first-time | CY2025 |
| Oregon real estate practice exam | 46% | Broker, state portion, first-time | CY2025 |
| South Carolina real estate practice exam | 57% | Salesperson, national portion, first-time | Jan 2026 |
| South Carolina real estate practice exam | 56% | Salesperson, state portion, first-time | Jan 2026 |
| South Carolina real estate practice exam | 15% | Salesperson, national portion, repeat takers | Jan 2026 |
| Tennessee real estate practice exam | 42.67% | Affiliate Broker, national portion, first-time and repeat combined, per sitting | CY2025 |
| Tennessee real estate practice exam | 71.53% | Affiliate Broker, state portion, first-time and repeat combined | CY2025 |
| Texas real estate practice exam | 56.12% | Sales Agent, first attempt, must pass both portions to count | 2-year rolling to 11/2025 |
| Virginia real estate practice exam | 36.46% | Salesperson, national portion. Attempt basis NOT stated by DPOR, so unknown | CY2024 |
| Virginia real estate practice exam | 43.01% | Salesperson, state portion. Attempt basis not stated | CY2024 |
| Washington real estate practice exam | 65.48% | Broker (entry credential), national portion, first attempt | Q4 2024, discontinued |
| Washington real estate practice exam | 70.22% | Broker, state portion, first attempt | Q4 2024, discontinued |
| Washington real estate practice exam | 31.68% | Broker, national portion, repeat takers | Q4 2024, discontinued |
| Wyoming real estate practice exam | 64% | All attempts, all licence types pooled, per exam graded, no portion split | CY2025 to date |
Broker-tier figures exist for most of these states and are left out to keep one comparison on the page. North Carolina's current annual report implies 75.5%, but it never calls that a pass rate, never says first attempt, and counts persons rather than sittings, so a candidate who failed and then passed may appear twice. Only its properly labelled 2015/16 figure is shown, and it is a decade old.
The remaining 28 states either publish nothing or publish something that is not a pass rate. Georgia is the instructive case: it publishes a differential, saying its candidates score 4% above a multi-state average that it never states. That is very likely why prep-site rankings put Georgia near the top. Ohio publishes nothing at all, despite being widely cited.
The finding nobody mentions: retakes go badly
This is the strongest and most consistent pattern in the entire dataset, and it is barely discussed anywhere online. Repeat takers do dramatically worse than first-timers, in every state that measures both, and the gap is never small.
| State | Measured on | First-timers | Repeat takers | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| California real estate practice exam | whole exam, 4-year average | 63.1% | 19.6% | 43.5 pts |
| South Carolina real estate practice exam | national portion | 57% | 15% | 42.0 pts |
| Washington real estate practice exam | national portion | 65.48% | 31.68% | 33.8 pts |
| Kentucky real estate practice exam | national portion | 69.26% | 39.83% | 29.4 pts |
| Nebraska real estate practice exam | national portion | 58.5% | 37.3% | 21.2 pts |
| Illinois real estate practice exam | national portion | 52% | 34% | 18.0 pts |
| Florida real estate practice exam | whole exam | 48% | 31% | 17.0 pts |
Seven states, four different measurement bases, and the gap never falls below 17 points. At the extreme, a California candidate resitting has roughly a one in five chance where a first-timer has better than one in two. Whatever causes it, the conclusion is the same: treat the first attempt as the one that counts.
The likeliest explanation is not that resitting is intrinsically harder. It is that candidates who fail often rebook quickly without changing anything about how they prepared. real estate exam retake rules has the waiting rules, and the honest advice is to use the wait rather than minimise it.
Which portion is harder is a local question
Standard advice says the national portion is the one to worry about, because it is longer and covers more ground. The states that publish both portions separately do not support that, and they do not support the reverse either.
| State | National | State | Which is harder |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nebraska real estate practice exam | 58.5% | 26.3% | State, by 32.2 points |
| Kentucky real estate practice exam | 69.26% | 51.23% | State, by 18.0 points |
| Hawaii real estate practice exam | 49.13% | 33.73% | State, by 15.4 points |
| Oregon real estate practice exam | 61% | 46% | State, by 15.0 points |
| Colorado real estate practice exam | 63.49% | 55.78% | State, by 7.7 points |
| Montana real estate practice exam | 77% | 72% | State, by 5.0 points |
| South Carolina real estate practice exam | 57% | 56% | Level |
| Illinois real estate practice exam | 52% | 56% | National, by 4.0 points |
| Washington real estate practice exam | 65.48% | 70.22% | National, by 4.7 points |
| Tennessee real estate practice exam | 42.67% | 71.53% | National, by 28.9 points |
Of 10 comparisons, the state portion is harder in 6, easier in 3, and level in 1. So it leans toward the state portion being the harder half, which is already the opposite of the usual advice. But the lean is not strong enough to plan on, and the exceptions are enormous rather than marginal: Nebraska's state portion runs 32.2 points belowits national portion, while Tennessee's runs 28.9 points above. Those two states give exactly opposite advice.
So the useful conclusion is a negative one: you cannot infer anything about your state portion from national advice, including advice that it is the easy half you can cram at the end. Look up your own state. Oregon is the best evidence that these are stable rather than noise, publishing a five-year first-time series in which the roughly 15-point gap holds every year.
Whichever way it falls for you, the state portion is around a third of the questions and reliably gets far less than a third of most candidates' study time. how many questions are on the real estate exam has the split for every state.
What candidates actually get wrong
Only three states publish per-topic performance, which makes this the only real evidence anywhere of where marks are lost. South Carolina's figures below are mean score by content area for first-time candidates on the national portion, against the maximum available in that area. It is the most precise of the three.
| Content area | Mean | Available | Scored |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real estate calculations | 2.91 | 5 | 58.2% |
| Financing | 5.14 | 8 | 64.3% |
| Transfer of title | 3.86 | 6 | 64.3% |
| Property ownership | 5.26 | 8 | 65.8% |
| Land use controls | 2.64 | 4 | 66.0% |
| Valuation | 4.22 | 6 | 70.3% |
| Contracts | 11.02 | 15 | 73.5% |
| Practice of real estate | 7.40 | 10 | 74.0% |
| Property disclosures | 3.73 | 5 | 74.6% |
| Property management | 2.28 | 3 | 76.0% |
| Agency | 7.79 | 10 | 77.9% |
| Whole national portion | 56.25 | 80 | 70.3% |
Real estate calculations is the worst-performing area on the exam, at 58.2% of the marks available, roughly twenty points below agency at 77.9%. It is also only about 7% of the exam, which makes it the most improvable points on the paper: the method never changes, so practice converts directly into marks. real estate math is the place to start.
Note what is not at the bottom. Agency scores highest at 77.9% despite being the area most prep material treats as treacherous. The genuinely weak areas are calculations, financing and transfer of title, which reward systematic practice most and get the least of it. what is on the real estate exam has the weights, so you can combine the two: an area that is both heavy and badly scored is where your hours belong.
Why the numbers you have read elsewhere are wrong
The most widely syndicated pass-rate "data report" in this niche ranks Texas, Georgia and Florida among the highest-pass-rate states. Florida's official first-time rate is 48%, one of the lowest measured anywhere in the country, and Georgia publishes no rate at all.
There is a plausible origin for the fifty-state tables that circulate. Kentucky's July 2024 board minutes contain a two-column fifty-state table that looks exactly like pass rates by state, is not, and carries a "nationwide average 55" line. Kentucky's own row in it contradicts the real Kentucky data printed on the preceding page.
The familiar claim that "about half fail the first time" turns out to be roughly the right order of magnitude by accident. Across the states with real data, first-time rates run from the high thirties to the high seventies. But it is presented as a national statistic, and there is no national statistic.
Three cautions about the table above. Arizona and Washington have both stopped publishing: their last editions were Q4 2023 and Q4 2024, both URLs now return 404, and both survive only in the Internet Archive carrying a notice that they may contain privileged information. California publishes only inside a sunset review that comes round every four years, so its "current" figure is structurally two or more years old. And Alabama's and Nebraska's statewide totals are our arithmetic over the regulator's published school-by-school rows, not figures those states publish themselves.
One more, on Hawaii. Its older reports label the component ORIGINAL, meaning first attempt, and those are the figures shown above. Its July 2026 file drops that word, states no attempt basis, and reports markedly lower rates. We do not show the newer series, because the drop is far more likely a change in what is being counted than a real collapse in performance, and plotting the two together as a trend would invent a story the source does not tell.
Common questions
How hard is the real estate exam?
Across the 22 states that publish official data, rates run from about 26% to 77% depending on the state, the portion, and whether repeat takers are counted. There is no national pass rate, so any single figure quoted as a national average is an estimate or one state's number relabelled.
What percentage of people fail the real estate exam the first time?
It depends entirely on the state and on what is being counted. Florida reports 48% of first-time sales associate candidates passing; Alabama’s derived first-attempt figure is 70.1%; Montana reports 77% on the national portion. Rates that include repeat takers are always substantially lower.
Is it harder to pass on a retake?
Dramatically, in all seven states that measure both. South Carolina reports 15% for repeat takers on the national portion against 57% for first-timers, and California 19.6% against 63.1%. The gap never falls below about 17 points. Treat the first attempt as the one that counts, and use any waiting period to change how you prepare.
Is the state portion easier than the national portion?
There is no national answer, and the common advice that the state portion is the easy half is not supported. Across the ten states publishing both, the state portion is the harder one more often than not, but the exceptions are large in both directions: Nebraska’s state portion runs 32 points below its national portion, while Tennessee’s runs 29 points above. You cannot infer your own state from general advice.
Which part of the exam do people fail?
On the only per-topic data published, real estate calculations is the worst-performing area at 58.2% of available marks, followed by financing and transfer of title. Agency scores highest, despite its reputation.
Which state has the hardest real estate exam?
The question cannot be answered from published data. 22 states release figures and they do not measure the same thing, so any ranking of all 50 states you find online is constructed rather than sourced.
Where to go next
Sources
Every figure on this page was read from the source listed beside it on the date shown. Candidate handbooks are revised without notice, so check yours before you rely on a number.
- Florida FREC Division report, June 2026 meeting documents checked
- Texas TREC education provider exam passage rates checked
- California DRE 2024 Sunset Review Report checked
- Colorado DRE first-time pass rates, annual 2025 checked
- South Carolina LLR Real Estate Commission yearly results checked
- New York State Real Estate Board meeting summary, 5 Feb 2025 checked
- Hawaii DCCA Real Estate Branch pass-fail report, Oct 2024 to Sep 2025 checked
- Alabama AREC exam pass rates by school checked
- Tennessee TREC 2025 PSI report checked
- Illinois IDFPR READ board minutes, 14 Nov 2024 checked
- Kentucky KREC meeting minutes, 15 Jan 2026 checked
- Kansas KREC minutes, 6 Apr 2026 checked
- Nebraska NREC school pass report, Q1 2026 checked
- Oregon Real Estate Board packet, 2 Feb 2026 checked
- Montana Board of Realty Regulation board meetings checked
- Wyoming Real Estate Commission meeting minutes checked
- North Dakota Real Estate Commission minutes, 16 Mar 2023 checked
- North Carolina Real Estate Commission annual report checked
Found something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so: editorial policy.